Published in Zoology
Friday, 30 June 2017 18:07
Amphibians are the earliest tetrapods. They were descended from fish like ancestors. They were developed in the Devonian period. They flourished during carboniferous period. It is called “Age of Amphibians”.
Amphibians can lead their life on land and in water. They are cold blooded vertebrates. They show four pent dactyl limbs. They are supported by pectoral and pelvic girdles.
Their skin is soft. It is glandular. They do not how exoskeleton. They perform respiration by lungs and skin. In some amphibians gills are also seen. They show three chambered head. Their R.B.C. are nucleated. Sexes are separate.
In the present day world nearly 15000 species are living. They belong to only three order
1) Anura 2) Urodela 3) Apoda

Useful Sites

  • NCBI

    National Center for Biotechnology Information
  • LTO

    Lab Tests Online® by AACC
  • ASCP

    American Society for Clinical Pathology
  • ASM

    American Society for Microbiology
  • The Medical Library®

    Project of

Connect With Us

Contact Us

All comments and suggestions about this web site are very welcome and a valuable source of information for us. Thanks!

Tel: +(92) 302 970 8985-6

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

Our Sponsors

InsightGadgets.comPathLabStudyTheMedicalLibrary.orgThe Physio

By using you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience on this website.